181 questions on the NCLEX

8/9/2018 10:42:56 AM
I took the NCLEX yesterday, and wanted to share my story since I didn't have the "ideal" 75 questions. I have been studying on and off for about 2 months, but truly started grinding the last 2 weeks. I finished the whole UWorld question bank, as well as some practice exams on ATI. Overall, I finished with 58% on the question bank, and 57% and 61% on the self-assessments on UWorld.

Going into the exam, I tried to be as confident as possible. My biggest worry was that I was going to lose my marbles if I got over 75 questions, so I tried hard to breath deeply and keep my mind clear during the entire exam. After about 1-1.5 hours of testing, I hit 75 questions, and could feel myself getting more and more anxious. As the questions kept coming, and I felt my stress level steadily rising, I decided to take an unassigned break at 110 questions (best thing I could have done!).

As I approached 150 questions, I thought for sure that I was going to be answering the full 265 questions. Nonetheless, I tried to keep a clear mind, so that I could focus on answering the questions correctly. I found the NCLEX questions to be similar to UWorld, but a lot more vague (which is why I think I was struggling). The computer eventually shut off at 181 questions, and I was certain I failed. Once I got to my car, I immediately started bawling. For several hours after the exam, I debated whether or not I wanted to do the Pearson Vue Trick. I had a friend who did it and got a false negative, so I was super hesitant. About 9ish hours after taking the exam, I caved and did the trick - I GOT THE GOOD POP UP! While I will not believe I truly passed until I get my license, this did bring me some peace of mind.