need advice old medical graduate

9/6/2012 9:44:55 AM
hi,i graduated 10yrs back with absolute no work experience..........i am seriously considering to give my usmles and get into residency..........but all my friends are discouraging that it wont work.can u guys give me some advice what o do?

9/7/2012 10:39:48 AM
nothing impossible
believe in it,go for it
all the best my friend

9/7/2012 1:36:02 PM
im in same boat. i graduated 6 yrs back no medical/clinical experience since.my biggest fear am i able to get into residency?
but if you feel strongly you want this and can do i would say just go for it.

9/7/2012 7:03:43 PM
There are many people including myself in similar situations. Staying true to your course despite the odds is a difficult choice.
This is how I look at it. The longer you wait, the more obstacles you face. Start now, stay focused, and don't give up. Its not going to be easy. You do your best in what you have control over, which is your exams. Once you get through your steps you will have to compete with the rest of them that is true, but by then you can work to make yourself more desirable to colleges, by finding opportunities, making contacts in the colleges, and getting some recent clinical skills/research/work.
Its about knowing what you have to face, acknowledging it, and pursuing your goal with both eyes open. There will always be people who discourage you, because it is hard. Even still, people get into residency all the time that face the same odds. We can do it too.

Don't know if this applies, but maybe its helpful?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K8ngYakqTtQ
edited by CaliDoc on 9/7/2012

hth
edited by CaliDoc on 9/8/2012

2/12/2013 1:50:27 PM
selinalee wrote:
im in same boat. i graduated 6 yrs back no medical/clinical experience since.my biggest fear am i able to get into residency?
but if you feel strongly you want this and can do i would say just go for it.