FAILED with Kaplan, PASSED with UWORLD

8/17/2017 10:51:00 PM
Hi guys,
I just wanted to share my story for those of you who are preparing for the NCLEX. I graduated in May as an average student (3.0 GPA) I took the Kaplan review class - I thought it would be worth it since it was 'guaranteed' - I took the class, it seemed really helpful and I averaged in the low 60% on the qbank and got a 68% on Q7 - I surely thought I was going to kick butt on the nclex. Exam day I was nervous and I could never get a hold of myself (thinking am I above the line or below the line). I was trying so hard to use the 'decision tree' but it did not apply to many of the questions I received. They did not really touch on any content, meaning their rationals pretty much stated why the correct answer was correct. I got 265 questions, the longest 5.5 hours of my life. The next morning I learned I failed. I was bummed but I wasn't expecting to pass with Kaplan's method.

Fast forward I got my head back in the game, I bought a 30 day subscription to UWORLD and I will say this is the BEST money I've spent for the entire nursing process. The questions were VERY similar to the NCLEX (I think I saw two similar questions). The rationals were on point and I learned/refreshed my memory with this review course. I took the exam 45 days later studied hard core the 2 weeks leading up to the exam. I did the entire bank of questions averaging 60%. I did the first 'test' after about half the qbank and got a 'high' chance of passing. I took the second test after I finished the entire qbank and received a 'very high' chance of passing. Once I finished the bank I went through and reviewed all the questions I answered incorrectly.

I took the test on August 16 - the computer shut off at 75 questions and I knew I passed. The content/review that UWORLD provided is exactly what you need to pass NCLEX and be a successful nurse.