International RN graduate, passed at 1st attempt!

11/15/2018 7:50:28 PM
I am still in awe! I'm an international student who has been out of school for 7 years. And I found out last November 8, 2018 that I passed on my first try. I'm forever thankful to our Lord Almighty. (all things are possible with HIM).

I took my NCLEX RN exam last November 7, 2018, I was anxious during the start of the exam but later on calmed myself as the format of Uworld is the same as the real NCLEX. I finished 2 hours later and when my computer shut off at 87, I began feeling anxious again. It was crazy and for me, it went fast. About 85% of my entire exam were SATAs, few pharm, drag and drops, some priorities, hot spot questions and leadership and management. The exam was really difficult.

I would like to share to everyone my study materials:-

1. Hurst (online) & their Hurst booklet- it is expensive but I has helped me a lot. It is a very good reviewer for content, I didn't got to finish the resource documents but I did the entire book with the online topics twice. The lecturers are amazing, engaging and they teach you straight to the point. It is very important to know your core content especially with answering SATAs.

2. NCSBN 5 weeks- I would recommend to just do the qbank (it depends on your preference). For me, the information was just too overwhelming. I didn't got to finish the entire 5 weeks course since my husband and I moved into another house due to the city's project.

3. Lab values, pharmacology- please do not beat up yourself if you don't know all the 44,000 meds as what Aunt Marlene (from Hurst) shared. Try at least to familiarize yourself with the common ones (their common uses, side effects, adverse effects and nursing interventions.)

4. 35 pages reviewer- I spent 2 days (6-8 hours) to review this. To the person who posted it, thank you! ^_^