5 months of study enough?

4/1/2014 2:16:09 PM
Hey,

I just started studying for the USMLE and am planning to take the exam end of August. Is this enough time to study for the exam? I see that people have studied for a year and am wondering if I'll be able to finish in a 5 months?!

I graduated a few years back. Is there anyone who took the exam in this time frame?Any advice?

I plan to do Pathoma, Kaplan- Pharm, Physio, Biochem, Behavioral science, Immunology and Anatomy, Microbiology made ridiculously simple and First aid. I was planning to just do 100 questions from Qbank everyday. Is there anything that I am doing wrong or anything else I should do?

Thanks

4/7/2014 11:28:46 AM
Really, you should take at least 6 months. However it depends on what kind of student you are, whether you learn fast or take repeated reviews to get something to sink in.

Uworld is a great resource to see where you stand and your average score is a good indicator of what concepts you are strong in and how far you have yet to go.

My advice: Take an NBME half way through your study period (2.5 mths), see how you fare and if you bomb it push your exam back until you are ready.
Good Luck!

4/15/2014 8:52:39 AM
ViVe21576400 wrote:
Hey,

I just started studying for the USMLE and am planning to take the exam end of August. Is this enough time to study for the exam? I see that people have studied for a year and am wondering if I'll be able to finish in a 5 months?!

I graduated a few years back. Is there anyone who took the exam in this time frame?Any advice?

I plan to do Pathoma, Kaplan- Pharm, Physio, Biochem, Behavioral science, Immunology and Anatomy, Microbiology made ridiculously simple and First aid. I was planning to just do 100 questions from Qbank everyday. Is there anything that I am doing wrong or anything else I should do?

Thanks

Hello,