Words of Encouragement

4/20/2016 4:31:59 PM
Hi All!
A little bit about me:
I graduated in December from an Associate Degree RN program. After a couple weeks of relaxing and enjoying being a Nursing School Graduate, I began studying for the boards. (Keep in mind I am an average/below average test-taker and struggled in school, but made it through.)

I scheduled my exam for February 29th, 2016. I studied day and night, with little breaks for myself. I used Kaplan, Hurst, and another review course only known to people in Ohio. I focused a lot on content and less on practice questions. I believe I spent so much time studying and didn't focus on myself. Test day came and went...after a little over 4 hours and 265 questions. I found out 28 hours that I didn't pass. I knew at the moment that I had to find a different way to study.

Second time around. I scheduled for April 19th (yesterday). I studied a lot, but I gave myself breaks to relax or exercise and then resumed where I left off. This time, (knowing I needed to do things differently), decided I was going to just do practice questions. I heard about "UWorld" through word-of-mouth and signed up for it. I told myself I was going to get through all of the questions that UWorld had to offer. During the week days I would do about 150-200 questions a day. On the weekends I would do 25-50. I am a visual learner and I have to write in order to learn. So I would write down every rationale in simple terms and then look over the notebook every now and then as a refresher. I took the NCLEX for the second time yesterday and walked out of there in less than an hour and a half with only getting 75 questions.