studied 3 weeks, 2000 questions, passed in 155!

6/12/2019 3:53:43 PM
hello everyone! while I was studying for NCLEX, I enjoyed reading through this forum and hearing about people's experiences with uworld and the NCLEX. so, since I just passed my NCLEX, I thought I would share my experience in hopes that it could help even just one person

I graduated nursing school about a month ago with my BSN. I started studying the week following doing about 25-50 practice questions a day. then when I moved home, I started doing 75-100 questions everyday (2 weeks out from my test). then one weeks out I was doing over 100-150 questions everyday. I saved flashcards as I worked through the question bank and wrote down topics that I needed to study up on (developmental milestones, radiation, herbs, rhythms, OB meds... etc.) and I used my Hogan NCLEX review book to "spot" study those content areas. I did this for the 2 weeks leading up to my test. also, I took the first self-assessment 2 weeks out from my test, and the second self-assessment the weekend before my test (NCLEX was on a monday).

I ended up with 101 questions left in the question bank on the day of my test. I did NOT study the day off (I had an afternoon test). I did study quite a bit the day before for some last minute review. it is impossible to know and memorize everything. in fact, it's not about memorization; it's about strategy! you have to get comfortable with how the NCLEX tests and strategies to answer questions. that is why doing tons of questions is so helpful!

My scores:
Self-assessment 1: 61% VERY HIGH chance of passing
Self-assessment 2: 66% VERY HIGH chance of passing

Q-Bank average performance: 63% -- 86th percentile.
I ranged from 53-73% on practice tests (most of the tests were 75 questions each). I consistently averaged in the 60s.

My NCLEX: