how to prepare for step 3 for the 2nd time

11/19/2011 3:30:08 PM
hi guys i am taking step 3 for the 2nd time , i need your opinion regarding the plan of study:
in the 1st time i studied master the board step 3 , did UWorld 2x and kaplan q bank 1x , prepared for 4 months , score of UW assessment was 210!! which was unreliable to my exam at all.

so, i am now preparing for the 2nd time , i decided to start with master the board step 2 ck in comparison with step 3 then med-study videos and notes and Conrad fisher internal medicine MCQ , UW again and kaplan and USMLE RX ( by first aid anthers ).
what do you think guys should i do else , thanks

11/24/2011 10:02:47 AM
Hello, it seems you prepared well before and this time you may know what are your strong and weak subject areas. Personally the crucial prep was when I went thru all uw multiple choice questions [mcq]and clinical case simulations[ccs], making notes as I went along. Then the next time I reveiwed the mcq and ccs, I looked at ONLY the ones that I did not get right on the first review. I also found it helpful to attend premierreviewdotcom course - it was for one week at a hotel in new york. I talked with my family and friends about the things I had to do and HUMBLY asked for their support as I isolated myself to do the course and afterwards I bought the cd (x 6 cds) for the live course. I made sure to listen to them over and over- topic by topic. As I reviewed the live lecture on cd , I would review the uw mcq nd ccs for that subject area. The exam is a test of endurance as well as knowledge. It will help you for other future situations when you have a timed challenge such as being on call during residency. You will benefit from using relaxation techniques during your studies and talking with your people about why you have to work so hard and probably need their support in one away or the other. Goodluck

11/24/2011 10:29:51 AM
MaMa89427592 wrote: