got my result. 260

1/18/2012 7:30:47 PM
took my exams on the 23rd of december. got my result today. 260/84 or 86. not so sure about my 2 digit score. i decided to ignore it.
nbme 4, 3 weeks to my exams. had 620/258
UWSA a week to - 700/256
I thank God for His mercies.
It's for sure a do-able exam.
The exam was not as tough as step 1, had about 10mins after each block to go through the marked questions. It takes some thinking and deductible reasoning- clinically oriented questions.
Had 228/98 in step 1 - march 2011
I am an IMG, graduated in 2006
I studied on and off, started in july 2011, took a break in august when i was dealing with personal issues. resumed september. didn't do much studying in december cos i just started working after a break and its quite hectic in the hospital where i am and i'm also gravid.
In all, i think i prepared for 3 months, read 6hrs/day. I dont know how to read for long hours, i get easily bored.
read kaplan notes once
then MTB 2- 3 times
USMLE secrets for step 2 more like my hand book, always in my bag and ward coat pocket.
Used the kaplan videos to revise in november. just cardiology and pediatrics- congenital heart disease
U WORLD once. then did the incorrect and marked questions, overall was 89 percentile. I tried to finish the Q bank and go thru the marked questions.
Then i prayed hard.
had to travel 8hrs to go to london to go write my exams. I live in one of the carribean islands and i missed my return flight on christmas day.
In all, i would say God has been merciful.
taking a break to focus on my family. Hope to apply september for residency next year

1/19/2012 12:53:35 AM
Awesum..congrats...and thanks for sharing ur experience!!

1/22/2012 2:05:49 AM