clock functions...very confusing

2/5/2013 3:46:15 AM
Hi all,
I'm sorry. I'm new to the software and I don't understand the CLOCK FUNCTION.

suppose I have a pt in E.R. on Day 1 @ 14:00. After reading case introduction, vitals and history, I decide to give some emergency orders to stabilize.

ELAPSED SIMULATE TIME is DAY 1 @ 14:00
I order, i.e. labs A (report available on Day 1 @ 14:01) and labs B (report available on Day 1 @ 14:05) plus other stuff.

Then I perform my focused physical, which will take 7 minutes.
The sofware alerts me that this will advance ELAPSED SIMULATED TIME 7 min = Day 1 @ 14:07. I click OK, infact the patient is stabilized and I need some test results before moving on in management. I expect the Elapsed simulated time to move effectively to Day 1 @ 14:07 but, no, I have my first surprise.

This window pops up on ELAPSED SIMULATE TIME DAY 1 @ 14:01 with the results of my labs A.
The software alerts me that CURRENT TIME IS DAY 1 @ 14:01 and asks me CONTINUE CLOCK ADVANCE? NOTE: stopping the clock will CANCEL all pending H and P activities.

I am a bit confused, I am still on Day 1 @14:01 when I thought I would be on Day 1@ 14:07. I decide to click CONTINUE because I still need to get the results of my physical exam and of Lab B.

Now it's ELAPSED SIMULATE TIME DAY 1 @ 14:07 and I get my physical exam results.
I click OK
Again the software alerts me that CURRENT TIME IS DAY 1 @ 14:07 and asks me if I want to CONTINUE CLOCK ADVANCE.
I CLICK CONTINUE because I still need to get the results of my Lab 2 (shouldn't they come up automatically? I expected them to be available on Day 1 @ 14:05).

As soon as I click CONTINUE, a new window pops up with the RESULTS of my Lab 2 but...ELAPSED SIMULATE TIME has gone back on DAY 1 @ 14:05.
I read the result of Lab 2, click OK and here is what the software now tells me:

CURRENT TIME IS DAY 1 @ 14:05
CONTINUE CLOCK ADVANCE?