To pinomontalbano

2/9/2013 8:14:06 PM
Hi Pinomontalbano,

I am silent reader of the forum.I have noticed that you are one of then who is active and very helpful to many out there by replying promptly. Moreover you are also very encouraging and seem to give a honest opinion. I really appreciate it and hence decided to ask you a query.

I am studying for step2ck ,I haven't done step1.
I would like to know if I need to study from Pathoma. If so how can I get the PDF format. Also I would like to know if pathoma is better or Goljan's rapid review is better?

Thanks in advance.

2/9/2013 8:22:28 PM
these are the books you need for CK: MTB by conrad fischer, step 2 secrets, kaplan books, and u-world. pathoma is good yes, but golijian is more detailed. you need to figure out how long you want to spend studying for this exam. if you have a little bit more time i'd go thru goljian rapid review, if you have less time pathoma is a good read.
as far as pathoma on pdf..i don't know. i actually have a hard copy of both books. pathoma AND goljian.

actually if you are truly studying hard for CK you don't need either MTB, u-world and kaplan as more than enough to get an extremely high score on your ck. goljian and pathoma are more for part 1. you're smart to take CK first before you take part 1. ck is is enjoyable to study for and studying for it will actually make part 1 easier to study for...well except biochem and immunology those are two beasts on their own.

message me if you have anymore questions.

2/13/2013 2:23:34 PM
Hi,
Thank you so much for the reply.I will go with your suggestion.currently I am using the books that you mentioned.My plan is to take NBME 1 by the beginnning of next month, If the score is very bad , then probably I will go for pathoma along with the revision of mtb, etc.I will let you know my NBME score so that You may give me more suggestions.