Finally passed it ..

9/5/2013 2:50:02 PM
I am quite person, never posted reviews anywhere, but it makes me sad to see lots and lots IMG’s like me taking step 3 but not getting the results they want or have take exam couple of time. Even I passed on second attempt.

I am an old grad took step 2 back in 2009. I had to take and pass step 3 before 2012 otherwise 7years rule would have barred me to take it ever. I wanted to make sure that I understand the material rather than just memorizing, as we all know sole memorization does not get you through any of the USMLE exam. I started with Kaplan step 3 books, I read the books twice. After that I subscribed to archer lectures because I heard lots of people on the forums were saying good things about it. And, no doubt the lectures did helped me a lot. Than I started doing uworld qbank, never scored above 55. At one point qbank blocks just seemed like battle to me. What I realized that I had the good understanding of concept but now I need to memorize the hard facts exam like to ask. Then I bought MTB. At this point I had really good step 3 books- Kaplan books and MTB. I had to make sure that I keep reviewing the Kaplan books, my archer notes and hard facts from MTB and but it was taking to much of my time just to review every day. by the time I would do qbank my brain was already fried form the reviews. I didn’t even have time to do CCS.

When I got little comfortable with the material I subscribed CCS workshop and started doing CCS cases every day. But my qbank average never passed above 55. I read on forums lots of doctors were passing even with 55 averages in qbank. I had to take test because I wanted to make sure my scores will be available before end of October which is dead line for most of the program. After taking the test I was scared because first of all the exam was hard , second I was also about to fall in the 7 year rule category.