My Tips for Passing Step 3

10/13/2011 9:59:56 PM
I'm a 2nd year Peds resident who didn't remember anything aside from Peds when I took the test approximately 3-4 weeks ago - I read Kaplan's Master the Boards three times over 3 months: the first time, a few pages here and there on good call nights, etc. (I didn't retain much that time); the 2nd time I read it over the period of a 7-10 days (50-100 pages/day) approximately 2 weeks before the exam, and then I skimmed over the portions I knew would pose a difficulty for me for the last week before the exam. This book is ALL you need, textbook-wise.

I also answered the UW questions once after I had read the book the 1st time (w/o having retained much), doing around 100/day -- my % at this point was in the mid-50's. I marked the questions I got wrong and didn't spend much time reviewing concepts. After I read the book the 2nd time, I went through each section of the book & did the questions I'd missed that corresponded and made notes in my book. I did this until I'd gone through all the missed questions, bringing my % up to the mid-high 60's.